Story of Your Song

Behind every song, there is a story – and we intend to share them.

Twist and Shout – The Beatles

I wish I was alive during Beatlemania. I would have screamed my lungs out. I would have cried my eyes out. I would have clawed my way through the reams of hysterical girls, just for a chance to touch one of them, any of them.

But, I wasn’t alive then, so there goes that.

So I settle for a watered down kind hysteria that I exhibit best when Twist and Sound gets played.

It’s not just a love for The Beatles. It’s also a love for 1980’s John Hughes films. Specifically, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

Anyone who knows me , even vaguely, knows that I have a profound, and slightly obsessive, love for this film – and for one scene in particular.

I think you know where I’m going with this…

Every time I watch that scene, I pick up something new, some little face I never saw before or some little dance move that catches my eye.

If I have the room to shake my booty, I’ll stand up and Twist and Shout along with Bueller…..Bueller….Bueller.

Since first viewing the film I’ve discovered (via trusty IMDb) that…

1) The Parade sequence (Twist and Shout scene) was filmed during the Von Steuben Day Parade. An annual event in the Chicagoland area.

2) During the parade several of the people seen dancing (including the construction worker and the window washer) originally had nothing to do with the film. They were simply dancing to the music being played and John Hughes found it so humorous that he told the camera operators to record it.

3) The dance sequence by the group on the stairs during Ferris’s lip-synch performance of Twist and Shout is taken directly out of Michael Jackson‘s Thriller video.

I just love this scene. And this song.

One comment on “Twist and Shout – The Beatles

  1. Helen Stark
    May 23, 2012

    Fabulous piece of film history.

Leave a Reply

Facebook

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

