Story of Your Song

Behind every song, there is a story – and we intend to share them.

Senior Don Gato – Unknown

I’ve been trying to find this song on Youtube for literally like 3 months.

It was a song that Mr. Bonaci used to make us sing in primary school music class. You know that kind of song that stick in your head, even know you don’t know the tune or the lyrics. Yep? Well that was this song for me. My white whale is your will. I knew it had the word ‘gato’ in it, and it was a bout a cat on a roof, but that’s it.

As you can probably tell by the rest of my blog posts, I have a thing for kid songs from my childhood. I love rediscovering those songs because it takes me back to my pudgy awkward days where my whole world was school and my best friend, Rach.

So when I found this song again, I was giddy, smiling at ear to ear.

Mainly, my joy was due to the fact I didn’t realise how dorky the song actually was, but also, I liked hearing it again and re-hashing those memories.

So in order to share with you a part of my dorky self, here is Señor Don Gato (with the lyrics included so you can sing along, of course).

Oh Señor Don Gato was a cat,
Meow
On a high red roof Don Gato sat.
Meow
He went there to read a letter,
Meow, meow, meow
Where the reading light was better,
Meow, meow, meow
T’was a love note for Don Gato.

How he adored the lady cat,
Meow
Who was fluffy, white, and nice and fat.
Meow
There was not a sweeter kitty
Meow, meow, meow
In the country or the city
Meow, meow, meow
And she said she’d wed Don Gato.

Oh, Don Gato jumped so merrily,
Meow
He fell off the roof and broke his knee.
Ow!
Broke his ribs and all his whiskers,
Meow, meow, meow
And his little solar plexus,
Meow, meow, meow
Aye caray!!! cried poor Don Gato.

Well the doctors all came on the run,
Meow
Just to see if something could be done.
Meow
And they held a consultation,
Meow, meow, meow
About how to save their patient,
Meow, meow, meow
How to save Señor Don Gato.

But in spite of everything they tried,
Meow
Poor Señor Don Gato up and died.
Meow
Oh it wasn’t very merry,
Meow, meow, meow
Going to the cemetery,
Meow, meow, meow
For the end of poor Don Gato.

As the funeral passed the market square,
Meow
Such a smell of fish was in the air.
Meow
Though the funeral was slated,
Meow, meow, meow
He became re-animated,
Meow, meow, meow
He came back to life Don Gato.

Leave a Reply

Facebook

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

