Story of Your Song

Behind every song, there is a story – and we intend to share them.

Everyone’s Waiting – Missy Higgins

 

It seems like this song is following me around everywhere right now. It followed me from terminal 5 at Tullamarine Airport all the way over the Indian Ocean to sunny/pissing rain Thailand. And now that I’m back again, it seems that Miss Missy Higgins has decided to continue her stalking of my ear drum with her haunting voice and beautiful lyrics.

Whilst we were overseas, this was the only song my boyfriend had on his iPhone for the entire two weeks. You see, his travel sim had wiped out his entire iTunes library, so we were stuck with this. one. song.

I hate to say ‘stuck’, but after two weeks of hearing the track over and over and over and over, it kind of felt like Missy Higgins was inflicting some kind of cruel and unique torture method onto us.

It was one of those situations where you fall so deeply in love with a song that you can’t help but hate it with that same kind of vigour that made you so entranced by it in the first place. A never ending death spiral of ‘I love you, I love you not’.

One minute, I’d be singing the ballad at the top of my lungs with every cell of emotion I has in me, and then the next, I’d be wishing the song’s slow demise, plotting how I would extract and dispose of each of it’s disgustingly beautiful chords.

I’m not quite certain as to whether it’s a ‘love’ or a ‘hate’ day for Everyone’s Waiting right now, but I do know that when I watched Higgins perform the song during the last week of The Circle on air, I let a little tear escape. That was a ‘love’ day.

Check out the performance below:

Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • #AskAuryn Do you think that there could ever be another NBL team in Melbourne again to challenge MU? 3 years ago

Recent Posts

