Story of Your Song

Behind every song, there is a story – and we intend to share them.

SIX SONGS OF SEPARATION: ‘Kiss of Life’ by Friendly Fires

 

I’m sure you’ve heard the term ‘six degrees of separation’.

The idea that everyone is on average six steps away, by way of introduction, from any other person on Earth.

You’ve probably even experienced this on a regular basis.

Where a friend of a friend’s cousin’s sister is actually the girlfriend of the person you’re sitting next to on the bus. Spooky.

I like to think that everything, in some small little way, is connected somehow. Meaning one day I might actually be taking over the throne of England, after Charles and Wills of course.

I also like to apply this principle to songs when I’m listening to them. I like to pick little segments of each song that remind of another and map out a connection in my mind.

I always love seeing what song I started with and what song I end up with, as the difference is often surprising.

This week, I heard Friendly Fires’ Kiss of Life on the radio and I started thinking…

“Man, that bongo drum solo sounds a lot like Blue King Brown’s Come and Check Your Head...”

“.. and that social justice subject matter really takes me to Matisyahu’s King Without a Crown…”

“… and Matisyahu’s beard reminds me of Cat Stevens…”

“… and Wild World reminds me of my favourite scene from Brit show Skins…”

“… which reminds me of that movie Wah Wah, where Nicholas Hoult sings…”

How the hell did we get here?

Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • #AskAuryn Do you think that there could ever be another NBL team in Melbourne again to challenge MU? 3 years ago

Recent Posts

